Welcome…DeEtte Beckstead!

So today I’m hosting DeEtte Beckstead on my blog…and she’s telling us about everything to do with her writing, including a tale about a puppy mill dog and the life she had with this lovely, supportive woman as well as her tips for being a writer.

 

 

Victory cover DeEtte Beckstead

What is the title of your newest release?

 

Victory is my newest release. It came out in December 2012.

 

Do you have any books in the works?

 

I have a book called From Tinker to Belle: From Worthless to Priceless. That is the story of my first puppy mill rescue: her life in the mills, her rescue, and how she changed our family and others.

 

I have another book of stories about my grandchildren as superheros. I asked them each to tell me what they would be like as a superhero, what their costumes would be, what superpowers they had. Using the information they gave me, I write stories about them. It’s a fun project, and a gift to each of my grandlings!

 

When you read, what is your favorite genre?

 

I like to read Christian fiction, historical fiction, and classics mostly. There are some I have read by my fellow authors that I have really enjoyed, even though I wouldn’t have chosen that genre for myself!

 

Do you have any hobbies? What do you like to do in your free time?

 

Crocheting is one of my hobbies. All my grandchildren have toys and clothes I have made for them. They will often ask me to make them something special, and I will do it. I also crochet dog sweaters, afghans, shawls, and doilies. Right now I am making a butterfly swag for one of my granddaughters with over 30 different crocheted butterflies on a crocheted vine.

 

In my free time…. what is that? I always seem to have something I need to be doing, but I like to read, watch old movies, play with my grandkidlings, or crochet. I also love to visit historical sites!

 

If you would have time travel abilities and could meet anyone from any time, who would you like to meet?

 

Oh, so many choices! It’s hard to pick just one! At the moment, I think I would like to meet Galileo Galliel. As the Father of Modern Science, I would love to chat with him about what he thought about his discoveries and where those discoveries have taken us now.

 

What is your all time favorite movie?

 

That’s a tough question. I have many favorites; it depends on the mood I am in. I love August Rush, The Sound of Music, Pride and Prejudice, but of all the movies I have seen, It’s a Wonderful Life has got to be at the top of my list!

 

The Christmas Visitors cover DeEtte BecksteadAre there any specific authors that you admire?

 

There are so many! Jane Austen, CS Lewis, JRR Tolkien… Of my peers, I admire Kim Emerson, G Mitchell Baker, Joe McCoubrey, Brad Fleming. There are others, too!

 

What advice would you give to aspiring writers?

 

Write about what you love. Don’t worry about making it all work to start with; just write. There will be time later to go back and make corrections, adjustments, deletions. Write what you feel. There is that old saying “Strike while the iron is hot.” When you know you have something to write, get it written then. Carry a notebook and pen with you to make notes or write complete scenes if you are away from the keyboard.

 

If a word count is important, don’t fill in with words that don’t add to the story. Just write. Once the first draft is finished, you can go back.

 

Don’t be afraid of editors; they are your friends, there to help you make your story the best it can be.

 

Find the method that works for you and stick with it, even though your best writing buddy uses a different style. If you need to write an outline and character sketches first, do so. If you write better just sitting down and writing, do that.

 

Whether or not you ever get anything published, you are a writer if you write.

 

Do you plan on being a full time writer, or do you have other career plans?

How long have you been writing?

 

I have been a stay-at-home mom (whatever that means! I certainly didn’t stay at home much with six kids!), a preschool teacher, a teacher at a private school, a trainer for people with disabilities, and a group home manager…. All that was before I started writing in 2007. Now I love to be with my grandchildren and taking life a little slower.

 

Do you prefer Ebook, paperback, or hardcover?   

 

Personally, I love the feel of a nice hardcover book in my hands! Paperbacks are next, and ebooks follow that. However, since I have a limited space, I am thankful I have the Kindle app on my iPad and can carry an entire library with me wherever I go! I think the most important part is being able to read, not so much how it is available!

 

Do you have any writing rituals like a particular treat, good luck charm, etc.?

 

Not really. Before my little dog died, he used to sit on my lap or at me feet while I wrote. I would read to him and he would listen politely.

 

I do write better with some background sounds, like the TV or music. I prefer classical music. I don’t have a particular composer or show I like.

 

Do you have a set writing schedule or do you write when the fancy hits you?

 

I write when, as you say, the fancy hits me. My schedule is never certain right now, so I make use of the time I have. I carry a notebook with me to make notes when I am out if something strikes me as write-worthy!

 

Thank you so much being my guest, DeEtte! Please share your bio and links where others can connect with you and your books.

DeEtte Beckstead author imageAuthor and blogger, DeEtte Beckstead started writing in 2007 when her son challenged her to get involved in the National Novel Writing Month, known by the acronym, NaNoWriMo. The manuscript sat untouched with several others until January of 2012 when a good friend encouraged her to seek publication. The Christmas Visitors is her first published short story, and her current novel, Victory is also her first.

            DeEtte spent much of her childhood playing the piano, clarinet, and guitar, reading, and making up stories. She was active in Girl Scouts, which gave her a  variety of experiences. While in college, she was on the University of Utah Synchronized Swim team, and taught winter camping and survival skills for Girl Scouts. She has spent many years working with people with disabilities.

Originally from the state of Utah, currently DeEtte lives in New England where she writes full time and works on the editing team of Master Koda Select Publishing. Her other interests include swimming, crocheting, reading, traveling, history, and her grandchildren. In addition, this devoted mother of six and grandmother of twelve has been a concerned participant in dog rescue services for many years.  

 

Blog: http://deetteanderton.wordpress.com

 

Facebook: www.facebook.com/DeEtteBecksteadAuthor        

 

Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/DeEtte-Beckstead/e/B00ADDW94Y/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

 

AuthorsdB page: http://www.authorsdb.com/authors-directory/66-deette-beckstead

 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DBAnderton

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

