Her life spirals out of control…

I’d like to thank Dominique for having me as her guest blogger today in the Tasha Turner Coaching Virtual Blog Tour. We are currently half way through the tour, and I hope you continue to follow us!

What inspired my current work in progress?

The inspiration to my current WIP was from my original novel – a paranormal romance called The Keeper. I was about two-thirds of the way done when the characters were nagging me in my head that I wasn’t done with them.

I had to stop writing The Keeper and type up a one page outline for book two before they quieted enough for me to finish that first novel.

In order to process the changes from one book to a series, I had to plan on more details, more descriptions, and I added an epilogue that wasn’t in the original plan. But I went all out and added approximately 5k extra words to make that happen. What did I matter though? I was writing for myself, maybe I would let a friend or family member read it, but I had no plans to have it published. But then an unexpected source encouraged me to publish the book. So I went for it. It wasn’t accepted the first go around, but I was given suggestions and advice on the manuscript by the acquisition editor. I was discouraged but I took them to heart after sleeping on it for a few weeks, worked on it, and resubmitted it with the changes. That was when Decadent Publishing offered me a contract.

The characters behaved in my head until I finished the first book and moved on to novel two called The Organizer. They started up again and I outlined the third and final book in the series. I have not released the name for that one yet, the title is too telling.

I put my food down after that and told them three books and the story must end. They have settled down and see things my way now.

***

 Blurb for The Keeper:

The morning of her sixteenth birthday, Billie feels blessed despite the reoccurring nightmare that wakes her. Loving parents, a caring boyfriend, and great friends surround her until an heirloom necklace throws her into a world she never imagined.
“Gifted” with supernatural powers and an unexpected destiny as the Keeper, Billie and a mysterious boy from her past must work together to find answers. But, as they begin to discover feelings for one another, he disappears leaving her to fight evil alone. Her life spirals out of control. She breaks up with her boyfriend, Tony, and alienates her best friends Arianna and Jocelyn to protect them from the truth.
As dark forces pursue her, Billie longs to run away from it all, yet a need to do what’s right compels her to face the future as the keeper of more than her own fortune.

***

Author Links:

Book Trailer on You Tube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8x0K05MHWA

http://www.authornataliestar.com

http://authornataliestar.blogspot.com

https://twitter.com/#!/iamjustnatalie

https://plus.google.com/u/0/116484157865842677580/posts

http://www.shelfari.com/nataliestar

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5424878.Natalie_Star

Purchase sites: http://authornataliestar.blogspot.com/2012/01/keeper-where-can-you-find-it.html

Author Bio:

When I’m not reading or writing, I can be found with my husband supporting my two children on the soccer fields. Or maybe running around with my camera taking photos while camping and/or hiking. Or lastly, and most probable – I’m watching movies on Netflix while simultaneously perusing Facebook. Our family resides in the state of Virginia along with our old-unintelligent-diabetic cat named Lucky.

***

There are a couple of things I hope you take away from this blog. Can you guess what they are? Leave your thoughts in the comments and in a couple of weeks (when I return from vacation) I will let you know who guessed correctly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

