Fourth Stop on the MK Tour – Kim Mutch Emerson!

I am so very, very honoured to be hosting the person who started Master Koda off – Kim Mutch Emerson. She makes the time for EVERYONE she works with as well as those of us with rather silly questions and ideas! Going to turn you over to her now today as we find out which book it was that changed her life and inspired her to write…

The year I turned six my best friend’s older sister Christine gave me a gift. She had no idea this gift would impact the rest of my life. In fact, I am sure she didn’t realize she was giving me a gift at all. She was simply trying to keep us occupied during the long days of summer.

Up until that summer my only experience with being “read to” had been a few little picture books and silly stories my dad read from time to time to try to get me off the ceiling long enough to go to sleep. I had never experienced anyone reading a “real book” to me.

As Christine read the story came alive in my heart! I became part of the book. I felt the love and determination of the human spirit, the heartbreak of tragedy. It was as though I was an invisible part of the story hiding among the trees watching the boy and his dogs, holding my breath when the mountain lion attacked.

The book? Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls. It was far above my reading level at the time and above the comprehension level of a six year old, but the tale of love and tragedy filled my soul. It inspired me on so many levels. My six year old heart was broken and I cried hot bitter tears.

Today, as I look back on my life I realize just how much this tale impacted my life. The main character was a boy named Billy from the Ozark Mountains. His dogs were Ol Dan and Lil Ann. My first novel, the main character was Bill and his dog was Sam. In my real life, my husband’s name was Bill and he was from… you guessed it, the Ozark Mountains. None of this was on a conscious level and I didn’t even realize it until I sat down to write this.

On a deeper level, Where the Red Fern Grows is a book about the strength and power of love; it is a story of determination and will power. I can’t say that I have always had this kind of strength or love, but I strive to.

To think, this book almost never came to be. The author, Wilson Rawls had destroyed all his manuscripts thinking others would never want to read his stories. His wife was the one that encouraged him to write it over again and seek a publisher. I know millions of people that would have a void in their heart where this book is. He touched many lives with his words. Even his gravestone is an inspiration – it is engraved with the words “dreams can come true”.

Dreams CAN come true. Don’t ever give up on yours. When it seems darkest remember, will your words or life touch someone and encourage them to take one more step? We never know whose life might be changed by our kindness or our stories. Can you think of a turning point in your life, something that may have been like my example where at first glance it was just “a moment”, but in looking back you realize it was a paradigm shift for you? I would love to hear your experiences.

Author, KD Emerson was born (or is that hatched) several years ago. We won’t go into how long it has been because she has this fantasy that she is still a teenager off to conquer the world. She has a passion for the written word and assisting other writers in becoming the best they can be. She also loves to promote others and cheer them on to victory. Follow her on twitter @MstrKoda or you can find her at http://www.masterkoda.com and on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/kimmutch.emerson

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Fourth Stop on the MK Tour – Kim Mutch Emerson!

  1. A moment I didn’t think much of was when I joined this silly little group called………..MasterKoda.com, and I made 100’s of GREAT friends, a Publisher, and a awesome Boss Lady!!!
    We all love you Kim!!
    You to Dominique!

  2. Sian, you have blessed my life so much! And that goes for every member of our writer’s group on FB!

  3. I love learning new things about my long time friend! I knew that this book was special to you, but I never knew to what extent. Thank you for opening your heart and sharing! As far as a turning point in my life (this is Tamy by the by); it would have to be when the ‘homeless man’ entered the door, interupting a meeting I was a part of, and asked if we had any hot coffee to help warm him up and any odd job he could do to earn money. It was then that I knew I needed to have an answer, a positive answer. I did not want to be a part of the problem, the ones who shrug their shoulders and look to others to ‘figure it out.’ I may not be able to help everyone, but I can help those I come into contact with. Writing is a means to that end for me. Love you Kim!

  4. I didn’t read “Where the Red Fern Grows” until i was much older, but it brought me to tears too. Its amazing how books we read when we were so young touched us so deeply.

    For me, it was Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House books (and Red Dog by Bill Wallace). To this day, no matter how my world has opened up from those youthful years… they still touch my heart.

  5. Penelope, Books are such forever friends, aren’t they? Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment! Blessings to you, my friend! Kim

  6. This is going to sound a bit odd…but my paradigm shift came about 5 1/2 years ago – on a cruise ship! Much like in my first published book, a chance meeting with a handsome stranger changed the course of my life. We didn’t have a cruise romance, or even stay in touch later on, but through a series of events meeting him led me to where I am right now. Meeting him set things in motion that led to adventures and friendships, to my becoming a published author, and eventually putting my writing and editing skills to use to put together my latest project (Music Speaks, a charity anthology benefiting an organization that helps musicians in times of need).

    And I thought I was just ribbing a cute Aussie who’d been rooked into singing karaoke. 🙂

  7. Kat McLaughlin

    My inspirations are the diagnosis of Fibromyalgia, a blessing in my life, for if it hadn’t occurred, I wouldn’t have been forced to change my career from dance instructor to writer. I had to find a career I was passionate about and endeavor it from my home office. I loved reading and writing since I was a timid child in the corner of my bedroom reading a favorite book, taking me to other worlds just by looking out the window at the fruit trees in my backyard.

    Every bad thing in life is a lesson to be learned, and learned well, or one will continue to repeat it. Keeping a sense of humor and having faith in whatever belief one chooses is what assists me in living my life because apparently, life isn’t done with me.

    I’ve received exciting news, news I’ve been waiting for eight long years to hear; a literary agent requested the full submission of my manuscript. Terrific, eh? I should be dangling from the chandelier, but my excitement has been tamped down by situations beyond my control. I’ve been allegedly cyber-stalked for six months on a daily bases, my house was burglarized two weeks ago by the drug dealers/users across the hall from me who also threatened my life two days ago. Suffice it to say, I’m endeavoring to stay safe and healthy. It’s my personal responsibility to respond in the right manner to things beyond my control, so I’ve purchased a firearm and received a concealed weapons permit (that is a personal choice, not an endorsement), law enforcement is on board and have been so helpful to my elderly neighbor who is also being continually harassed as well as myself. I went for an assessment by a psychologist who’s diagnosed me as PTSD. My response? I made a first appointment for next Wednesday. When I got home, I found the stuffed kitty in the mailbox a writer friend of mine sent me from the U.K. I kissed her face and held her close. It was a sign all will be okay and her presence staved off another panic attack.

    The point is, despite all the negatives going on in my life at this time, it won’t last forever, nor will it destroy my dream. My dream is protected in my heart and I’ve the resolve to see it through to its successful conclusion. There will always be bad things in one’s life, but life must go on. Just know the only thing with one’s control is one’s reaction to them. One can chose to send out invitations to a pity party and wallow in the unfairness of it all. No one promised life is fair. Life is a mixed bag and as soon as one learns the lesson in every dark cloud, deign to find a sparkle of a gem even in the darkest night, maintain a sense of humor even if it means to force a smile on ones’ face, and think of one’s writing as cathartic therapy, a passionate tool to emote repressed emotions, one is well on their way to succeeding in anything they do.

    Protect your soul and muse from negativity from every realm whether it emanates from social media bullies, drama queens and kings, and those that personally attack you or crudely critique your projects in writers’ groups. Carefully vet the groups you’d like to join. Master Koda is my favorite group because these writers are good people. They welcome you with open arms truly making you feel special and unique. They provide such essential information to better your writing skills, understand the industry, and most of all, encourage you not only as a writer, but as a valued human being. I’ve never seen a rude or nasty post or comment. These truly talented and gifted writers surround you with authentic warmth, enthusiasm, and encouragement. They promote the successes of others, tooting the horns of those who return in kind. These are my kind of peeps. These writers are my family! And Kim Mutch Emerson is my Sister! She rocks this feline’s writing world! ~Cheetah Kat~

    • Kim (KD Emerson)

      Kat,
      I am bawling my eyes out. I am so grateful you have found a home the MasterKoda writer’s group on FB. It was my goal and vision to create a safe and positive place for people to gather. I am sure you have noticed those that want a more negative place leave our group and that’s okay.

      I am sending you ten tons of sweet hugs. Thank you for being who you are. Thank you for what you bring to this world.

      Kim (KD Emerson)

  8. Kat, bless your little heart honey! Know that we will be praying for you and that your home/work/life will be peace filled!!

    • Kat McLaughlin

      Thank you for your prayers! I’ll be offline for a time fighting the good fight, but I’ll be back with a Big Cat’s roar! ~Cheetah Kat~

Leave a Reply

