Second Stop on the MK Blog Tour – Jennifer Starks!

This week is the second stop on the MasterKoda Blog tour, and I’m hosting for Jennifer Starks. She has provided us with the lyrics that describe her book and the basis for her book, too. Who could imagine a job like that?

A song that describes my book? Hmmm? I would have to go with ‘World so Cold’ by 3 Days Grace. My main character, Vira Silk, has a very depressing job. She and her team clean up dead people.

Most of the time, they’re dealing with crime scenes. She gets to see the aftermath of a person’s last moments and while she gets satisfaction from removing that horror from plain view, it takes a dark toll. Vira has been excelling at her job for six years, but the job has also been decelerating her tolerance for life. She’s pulled away from the real world, a world where you feel for and become attached to other people. This song speaks to her personality; who she is at her core and the depth of her connection to that which she’ll only endure for the dead. Pain.

“World so Cold”

I never thought
I’d feel this
Guilty and I’m
Broken down inside
Living with myself
Nothing but lies

I always thought
I’d make it
But never knew I’d
Let it get so bad
Living with myself
Is all I have

I feel numb
I can’t come to life
I feel like
I’m frozen in time

Living in a
World so cold
Wasting away
Living in a shell
With no soul
Since you’ve gone away
Living in a world so cold
Counting the days
Since you’ve gone away

Do you ever feel me
Do you ever look
Deep down inside
Staring at yourself
Paralyzed

I feel numb
I can’t come to life
I feel like
I’m frozen in time

Living in a
World so cold
Wasting away
Living in a shell
With no soul
Since you’ve gone away
Living in a world so cold
Counting the days
Since you’ve gone away
You’ve gone away from me

I’m too young
To lose my soul
I’m too young
To feel this old
So long
I’m left behind
I feel like
I’m losing my mind

Do you ever feel me
Do you ever look
Deep down inside
Staring at your life
Paralyzed

Living in a
World so cold
Wasting away
Living in a shell
With no soul
Since you’ve gone away
Living in a world so cold
Counting the days
Since you’ve gone away
I’m too young

Jennifer Starks has been writing since the tender, but still wise beyond her years, age of eight. She gets giddy at the thought of visiting a book store, loves that good ole Library smell, is most at home on the couch reading or at her desk writing. She adores her children (though they make it entirely difficult to keep any kind of writing schedule) and is humbled beyond belief to have a mother who fostered her love of the arts and a husband who supports the lifestyle even when it means listening to her type at 5 AM. Messy Death will be Jennifer’s début novel. Updates on its progress can be found at www.jenniferstarks.wordpress.com

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Second Stop on the MK Blog Tour – Jennifer Starks!

  1. Great post. The song goes so well with your description of the character/book. More and more this blog tour is making me want to read the book Jennifer.

    Dominique I love your intros.

  2. Aw. Thanks Tasha. I loved how it turned out, Dominique. Thanks so much for hosting me.

Leave a Reply

